The Red Button is the refreshingly retro collaboration between singer-songwriters Seth Swirsky and Mike Ruekberg. Their original songs showcase their shared passion for the juicy melodies and catchy hooks of the pop music of the ’60s and ’70s, yet still crackle with present day energy. You will not be able to resist the urge to sing along.

Mike Ruekberg (left) Seth Swirsky (right)

Mike Ruekberg (left), Seth Swirsky (right)

Seth Swirsky has written hit songs for dozens of artists, ranging from Rufus Wainwright (“Instant Pleasure”) to Al Green to Tina Turner, Taylor Dayne (“Tell it to My Heart”) among many others. (He’s also written three bestselling books about baseball and made a documentary playing in film festivals currently called “Beatles Stories”).

As a solo artist, his first album – Instant Pleasure – won for Best Pop Album at the 2005 L.A. Music Awards. His follow-up, Watercolor Day, won Best Pop Song (the title track) at the 2010 Hollywood Music and Media Awards.

Ruekberg’s indie credentials are rock solid: He spent the ’90s as writer and singer for Minneapolis-based pop heroes Rex Daisy, who recorded a CD for Geffen Records with producer Paul Fox. He also wrote the soundtrack for the indie cult film classic “Dummy”, which starred Adrien Brody, Milla Jovovich, and Vera Farmiga. Mike’s music has also been heard in other movies and on TV, as well as in football stadiums and blaring from audio greeting cards!

The two met in 2005 and hit it off immediately; both of them admiring each other’s songs, and sharing a taste for vintage pop.

So, they got together and started writing and recording songs. They found that Swirsky’s tuneful optimism balanced nicely with Ruekberg’s pessimistic but passionate style. Their first album “She’s About to Cross My Mind”, in 2007, was the result of those sessions.

After winning many “year-end” polls for Album of the Year with “She’s About to Cross My Mind” and being dubbed by the influential music Magazine SHINDIG! as the new “Power Pop Princes”, they are back with their second album of original material called “As Far As Yesterday Goes”, released on June 1, 2011.